To visit VPR


Email vpr@valpo.edu

VPR logo

By Edward Byrne

Vaparaiso Poetry Review is a nationally renowned, semi-annual online literary journal sponsored by the Department of English at Valparaiso University and edited by Edward Byrne.

The journal presents poems, interviews, and essays by new, emerging, or well-known poets, including Pulitzer Prize winners and Poet Laureates of the United States. Among the poets included in recent issues are David Baker, Claire Bateman, Billy Collins, Barbara Crooker, Bernardine Evaristo, Patricia Fargnoli, Jeff Friedman, Carol Frost, Brendan Galvin, Reginald Gibbons, David Graham, Jonathan Holden, Colette Inez, Laurence Lieberman, Rachel Loden, William Matthews, Walt McDonald, Alicia Ostriker, Stanley Plumly, Margot Schilpp, Vivian Shipley, Beth Simon, Floyd Skloot, Kate Sontag, Virgil Suarez, Charles Wright, and many more.

VPR also offers book reviews of various poets, including Maggie Anderson, David Bottoms, Jared Carter, Patricia Fargnoli, Beth Ann Fennelly, Carol Frost, Brenda Hillman, Janet Holmes, Philip Levine, Larry Levis, Rachel Loden, Susan Mitchell, Gregory Orr, Michael Palmer, Marianne Poloskey, Vivian Shipley, Mark Strand, Charles Wright, and others. Each issue also includes an extensive list of recently received and recommended books of poetry and poetics.

VPR is highly selective in choosing works for every issue, accepting only accomplished, quality poetry or commentary on poetics from the thousands of manuscripts received year round by email or postal mail. Submissions, review copies of books, and general comments are always welcome. The email address for VPR is vpr@valpo.edu and the postal mail address is:

Edward Byrne, Editor
Department of English
322 Huegli Hall
Valparaiso University
Valparaiso, IN 46383-6493
VALPARAISO POETRY REVIEW can be read online at the following URL: http://www.valpo.edu/english/vpr/

All previous issues of VPR remain available for reading at the site, and the journal includes an archives page that allows convenient searching of the past issues for specific works by individual authors.